Stopping by Kroger on a Snowy Evening

My heart lept when I saw you
I thought you were her
The one I’ve been waiting for
The one to end my lonliness.
I met you just yesterday in the grocery line
From beind you were the woman of my dreams
Your movements fluid, your hair like silk
Your clothes seems made by an angel who
Would only fit one like herself.
But then you turned to ask a question
An awkward attempt to fake a contact
Perhaps to get a number?
Your face was like cold water on a cold day
Your words like bugs crawling out from under a log
I wasn’t hungry any more.
There must be more…give me time
A second should do.

Leave a Reply

